Grey’s Reflection on Imbolc

I really felt that our Imbolc ritual was one of the best we’ve done.  After reviewing the COoR in January, we brainstormed ways to make our rituals flow better, especially when we have them indoors.  We moved our three hallows to the middle to evoke the sense that we really are in the stone circle outside.  That helped a lot!  I think we were also more focused and grounded after the craziness of the holidays.  I think our fondness for Brighid added to it as well!  I know I felt more connected to the holiday and its symbolism.

Another great development was one of our members worked on guitar accompaniment to one of our chants.  We sang the English portion of Isaac Bonewits’ “Hymn the Brighid” while he played the chords supplied by Ian Corrigan and it went really well!  I think it added a little extra something to our rite.  Everyone is very keen to add more instrumentation and even experiment with writing some of our own chants.  Brighid was clearly blessing us with inspiration!

We made Brighid crosses and mini mantles. Everyone really enjoyed this. Photo by Grey Catsidhe, 2013.

A closeup of my Brighid cross. This year I made triple armed crosses and, I must say, I really  like that design. Very Druidic. 😉 Photo by Grey Catsidhe, 2013.

Our Three Hallows – fire, water, and tree – and the Brighid doll I made. Photo by Grey Catsidhe, 2013.

Sacred fires and omens. Photo by Tara Loughborough, 2013.

Leave a Reply

