Spring Equinox 2013

Yesterday, Northern Rivers Protogrove gathered to celebrate the coming of Spring Equinox!  After spending Imbolc indoors, it felt wonderful to return to the stone circle at the Kripalu Yoga and Wellness Center in Adams, NY.  Although there was still some snow on the ground and a chill in the air, we rejoiced at the signs of spring everywhere.

Weretoad and Andrew got the fire started.  I made some fun Spring Equinox fire starters using the method I learned from Book of Shadows and Blessings.  I decided to reuse some appropriately colored tissue paper since it can’t be recycled with other paper products anyway.  Perhaps next time I’ll experiment with some drawings or sigils.

Festive, spring fire starters. Photo by Weretoad, 2013.

I wish we could have taken a photo of the altar.  I made a lovely, swirling green altar cloth for the occasion.  I worked hard to simplify the objects on the altar so that it wasn’t cluttered with too many tiny bowls.  I used some small pitchers to hold ale and whiskey which we used for most offerings.  A few smaller bowls semi-circled around them, containing dry offerings like incense and Irish oats.  It felt more organized!

I think the ritual itself went well.  It was only the full members in attendance (I think the cold is keeping a lot of people away for now), but it made for a wonderfully intimate ritual in which everyone felt comfortable.  Inhibitions were lowered more and people put more energy into their chanting, their ritual parts, and the call and responses.  We even experimented with some drumming in an attempt to wake up the Nature Spirits!  It started off awkwardly, and anyone who knows me personally realizes I’m not a musician and that performing on the spot kind of freaks me out – but I had to put the barriers down and just go with it.  I let loose and it was fun. If I couldn’t do it, nobody else would.  We didn’t drum long, but it ended in joyful laughter which is a good sign!  I’m very proud of everyone and I think we brought a smile to the Kindreds.

Ritual was, of course, followed by lots of food!  I made some hearty colcannon, Steve shared some veggie soup, Cat made some fruity tea, and there were a ton of other goodies!

Delicious chocolate Guinness cake from John and Tara. Photo by Weretoad, 2013.

Yummy and seasonal deviled eggs from Weretoad. Photo by Weretoad, 2013.

Some tasty Irish soda bread from Cassandra. Photo by Weretoad, 2013.

Sinful brownies from Patty. Photo by Weretoad.

As we ate, we discussed Druid 101 books people have read.  There were quite a variety discussed.  We enjoyed each others’ fellowship and even started to plot for Bealtaine!

Thanks again to everyone who comes and makes these celebrations possible!

All our lovely drums, including some egg shakers Cassandra and Andrew made, and a beautiful bodhrán that Tara painted by hand (center). Photo by Weretoad, 2013.

5 thoughts on “Spring Equinox 2013

  1. Pingback: Spring Equinox 2013 | Northern Rivers Protogrove, ADF | The Ditzy Druid

  2. Pingback: The Gatekeeper | The Ditzy Druid

Leave a Reply

