Potluck Recipe: Cat’s Gnocchi

First I start the water boiling for
1 packet of gnocchi – boiled separately
Then I turn on a burner for a big pan medium heat
Then add approx.
2-3 tbs of olive oil.
1 med sized onion diced
2-3 cloves of garlic – minced
2-3 tomatoes diced
1/2-1 whole broccoli crown
1/4-1/2 a head of cauliflower
(these are mostly estimations.. I never wrote it down before I just wing it, lol)
I stir every time I add a new ingredient
Then I cover with a lid and put the gnocchi into the boiling water. Takes about 4 mins to cook, but no need to time as they float to the surface when cooked. Stay nearby them though or the starch may make the water boil over!
While the gnocchi is cooking, I go to the fridge or cupboard (if unopened) and grab marinated artichoke hearts. I use about 4-5 oz.
Then I add
3-4 grinds on the Himilayian pink salt grinder
6-7 grinds on the black pepper grinder
1-2 tsps of Italian seasoning
Stir it around and re-cover. Then I strain the gnocchi in the sink (obviously turning off that burner) and after thoroughly straining, I uncover the pan and pour in the gnocchi and stir it around.
Then I add about 4-6oz of cheese curd… Though, I switch out cheeses when I am cooking for vegetarians and use block cheese. Either McAdams or Cabot so that there is no animal rennet in the cheese.
Also, I have added chicken sausage, curry, with and without onions, with and without artichokes, etc… in the past. It’s a pretty flexible recipe
Oh, and at the end, many times I will add another tbs of fresh, raw olive oil, just simply for the health benefits of the raw oil.  This recipe may be doubled or tripled easily!

2 thoughts on “Potluck Recipe: Cat’s Gnocchi

  1. Sounds delicious! Wherever do you get a Himalayan pink salt grinder though? I’ve really only seen the salt for sale as tealight holders and loose salt online. I would definitely throw some Italian sausage in, as I love meat. 🙂

Leave a Reply

